Guides › How Many Names Can You Reserve in WoW Forever? Limit and Rules

Guide ·

How Many Names Can You Reserve in WoW Forever? Limit and Rules

You could reserve up to three character names in World of Warcraft: Forever (WoW Forever): Blizzard said eligible players could create names for up to three characters in total across all rulesets, between October 27 and November 3, 2026. The reservation is closed as of November 5, 2026, and Blizzard has not published a limit on the total number of characters per account or ruleset in any page I opened.

Quick answer: Three was the early reservation cap, shared across rulesets, and it applied only to Early Name Reservation. If you did not reserve, you pick names at character creation and the full two-part name must be unique in your region. Blizzard states no overall character cap that I could find.

How many names you can reserve in WoW Forever: three characters in total across all rulesets from October 27 to November 3, 2026, for owners of an upgrade pack; the three-name cap applies only to Early Name Reservation; Blizzard states no overall character limit; each full name is two parts and unique in the region.
The three-name reservation cap and what Blizzard does and does not state, as of November 5, 2026.

Three names were a small purse, and the window has shut.

Key facts

  • Reservation limit: up to three characters total across all rulesets (Blizzard)
  • Example: two on PvP leaves one more on Normal or Role-Play (Blizzard)
  • Window: October 27 through November 3, 2026; closing hour not stated by Blizzard
  • Who: pre-purchasers of the Heroic Pack, Epic Pack or Collection (Blizzard)
  • Name format: two names that together are unique within a region (Blizzard)
  • Overall character cap: not stated by Blizzard in the pages I opened

How many names could you reserve in WoW Forever?

Three. Blizzard's name-claim post says that during the reservation period eligible players could create and reserve names for up to three characters total across all rulesets, and that the restriction applies only to Early Name Reservation. Icy Veins adds that all three could be on one ruleset or spread across several. Names were first-come, first-served, and Blizzard said desired names could not be guaranteed. See how to reserve your name and early name reservation.

Can you still reserve a name?

No. Blizzard's window ran October 27 through November 3, and the game opened on November 4. After that you choose a name when you create a character. Blizzard's naming article says that if the full name you want is taken or does not meet the rules, you choose another combination or use the in-game random name generator. Blizzard's launch post says each character has two names and the full name is unique within a region; see character name rules.

How many characters can you have in total?

Blizzard has not said, in the pages I opened. The launch post states no limit per ruleset or realm, and WoW Forever has no realms in the traditional sense. Players on a Blizzard forum thread gave figures from 10 per play style to 70 account-wide, one saying they found 70 by testing in the beta, others citing other versions of WoW and Icy Veins; no Blizzard reply appears in the thread I read, so treat those numbers as unofficial. The character creation screen in the game is the place to see your own limit.

Does a reserved name carry over to every ruleset?

Not as far as Blizzard says. Reservation created characters on a chosen ruleset, and Blizzard's ruleset post says players cannot freely hop between rulesets; a different ruleset means a new character. On the PvP ruleset you can create characters for only one faction. Read can you switch rulesets.

What is not confirmed yet

  • The overall number of characters per account, ruleset or region.
  • The hour on November 3 when reservation closed.
  • Whether the limit might change after launch.

How can the Lore Forever add-on and Willo help with this?

Picking names for a family of characters is easier with a note to hold them. Willo is a separate companion app for Windows 10 or 11; her page also lists an Apple Silicon Mac download (macOS 12 or later) and her FAQ now says Windows and Mac, though CurseForge still describes her as a Windows app. She is free to start with 50 answers a day and keeps a Notebook of notes for each character on every plan. She can be wrong, so check naming rules with Blizzard. The Lore Forever add-on is free, fan-made and not affiliated with Blizzard, and gives quest and place stories that may suggest names for your next character.

Frequently asked questions

How many names can you reserve in WoW Forever?

Up to three characters in total across all rulesets, per Blizzard, during October 27 to November 3, 2026.

Is name reservation still open?

No. It closed after November 3; you choose a name at character creation.

Is there a character limit per account?

Blizzard has not published one in the pages I opened; forum figures are unofficial.

Can two players share a first name?

Yes, if the full two-part name differs, because the full name must be unique in the region.

Did the three-name limit apply after launch?

No. Blizzard says it applies only to Early Name Reservation.

Sources

Reviewed November 5, 2026. Lore Forever and Willo are fan-made and are not affiliated with Blizzard Entertainment.

More from the guides