Guide ·
WoW Forever Raid Size and Loot Rules: 10, 20 and 40 Players
World of Warcraft: Forever (WoW Forever) raids come in three sizes, 10, 20 and 40 players, and Blizzard has not yet published which loot method a raid group will use. As of November 6, 2026, Blizzard's raid overview gives sizes only, while a September 17 developer Q&A, as Warcraft Tavern recaps it, adds no flex raiding, no cross-faction raiding and no GDKP.
Quick answer: Barrow Deeps takes 10, Hyjal Summit 20 and Onyxia's Lair 40. Plan for those sizes, from one faction. Loot rules are unconfirmed; the one firm statement is that GDKP gold-bid runs are not allowed in North America and Europe.

Key facts
- Sizes: 10, 20 and 40 players, all level 60 (Blizzard raid overview, October 20)
- Flex raiding: none; every tier gets 10- and 20-player versions (Warcraft Tavern, Q&A recap)
- Cross-faction raiding: none (Warcraft Tavern, Q&A recap)
- GDKP: not allowed in North America and Europe; Korea differs (Warcraft Tavern; Inven Global)
- Loot method in raids: not stated by Blizzard in any page I opened
How many players are in a WoW Forever raid?
Blizzard lists Barrow Deeps at 10 players, Hyjal Summit at 20 and Onyxia's Lair at 40. Warcraft Wiki's general raid page says a raid group holds up to 40 characters in up to 8 groups of 5, which fits the 40-player size; that is a general page, not a Forever one.
Is there flex raiding or scaling in WoW Forever?
No, per Warcraft Tavern's recap: Forever will not have flex raiding, and each tier will have both a 10- and a 20-player raid. Icy Veins draws the practical conclusion that with 21 players for a Hyjal Summit run, one has to sit out. That is Icy Veins' reading, not a Blizzard statement.
Can Horde and Alliance raid together?
Not according to Warcraft Tavern's recap of the Q&A: there will be no cross-faction raiding. Blizzard's raid overview does not mention it. See the raids overview for what each raid is.
What are the loot rules in WoW Forever raids?
Unconfirmed. Blizzard's raid overview names no loot. Warcraft Wiki describes loot methods of the original game, including master loot, where the group leader designates one looter to hand out drops, and group loot, which rolls for items above a quality threshold. It says modern WoW removed them in 2018. Whether Forever offers them in a raid is not stated in the pages I opened; see the Need vs Greed guide.
The CurseForge add-on Forever Loot Manager, a DKP tool, says it needs master loot with the raid leader as master looter, and its page says the hand-over is untested in a live raid. That is one author's expectation, not Blizzard's confirmation.
Is GDKP allowed in WoW Forever raids?
Not in North America and Europe. Warcraft Tavern's recap says Forever will not allow GDKP raiding. Inven Global reports that associate production director Clay Stone said the ban covers only North America and Europe, so Korea and other regions can still run GDKP raids.
What gear do the raids drop?
Sources disagree. Icy Veins (October 24) says tier pieces drop in all three raid sizes and that world buffs are stripped inside raids. Gfinity (October 14) says tier sets drop from Hyjal Summit, and RankedBoost says Barrow Deeps and Hyjal Summit bring new tier sets and a legendary reward. Icy Veins ties the first legendary to Hyjal Summit. None of this is on Blizzard's overview.
What is not confirmed yet
- The group loot method, and whether master loot is available in raids.
- Which raids drop tier sets, and how the legendary is earned.
How can the Lore Forever add-on and Willo help you prepare a raid group?
The free Lore Forever add-on is fan-made, not affiliated with Blizzard, has no internet access and uses generated voices for narration; it tells the story behind the dungeons you run on the way to level 60. Willo is a separate companion app for Windows 10 or 11 and Apple Silicon Macs (macOS 12 or later), per her page; her FAQ and the Lore Forever FAQ say Windows and Mac, though CurseForge still calls her a Windows app. Ask her out loud what a loot term means while you play, free to start with 50 answers a day. She can be wrong.
Frequently asked questions
How many players are in a WoW Forever raid?
10, 20 or 40, depending on the raid, per Blizzard.
Does WoW Forever have flex raiding?
No, per Warcraft Tavern's recap of the September 17 developer Q&A.
Can Horde and Alliance raid together in WoW Forever?
No, per the same recap.
Is there master loot in WoW Forever raids?
Unconfirmed. One add-on assumes it; Blizzard has not listed the loot methods.
Is GDKP allowed in WoW Forever?
Not in North America and Europe; Inven Global reports Korea is not covered.
Sources
Reviewed November 6, 2026. Lore Forever and Willo are fan-made and are not affiliated with Blizzard Entertainment.
- Blizzard: Raid Overview (October 20)
- Warcraft Tavern: Developer Q&A recap, GDKP
- Inven Global: GDKP ban scope
- Icy Veins: Raid Overview, Two Raids Every Tier
- Warcraft Wiki: Raid, Loot
- CurseForge: Forever Loot Manager
- Gfinity: Raid Schedule; RankedBoost: Raids
- Willo